The Tohoku is an area in the northern part of Honshu, Japan's biggest island.
It's made up of 6 prefectures: Aomori, home to Oirase Keiryuu and Lake Towada, famous for lush greenery and autumn foliage; Iwate, which has the World Heritage site Hiraizumi; Miyagi, which includes one of Japan's top three sights, Matsushima; Akita, the birthplace of Akita dogs; Yamagata, which is full of delicious foods like Yonezawa beef and cherries; and Fukushima, which has the Ouchi Juku, a town that still maintains the Edo period facade.
In the summer, they hold the three great festivals of Tohoku - the Sendai Tanabata Matsuri in Miyagi, the Aomori Nebuta Matsuri, and the Akita Kanto Matsuri.
You can visit all three festivals in a single tour!
There are various hot spring resorts, like Nyuto Onsen, Zao Onsen, and Sukayu Onsen, and each area has its own regional cuisine and sake that uses the most of local ingredients.
Tohoku is an area that is overflowing with nature, food, history, and various other charms, so please make your way around it.



Tohoku×Sightseeing More Guides

Tohoku×Tips & Manners

Tohoku×Tips & Manners More Guides